Friday, June 4, 2010

Lake Mungo aka (Dead Chicks With Lots of Skeletons)



Nice job After Dark Films!! This is the 5th Horrorfest film I have watched from this years batch and I have to go on record and say this is easily the best group of films to come out of this little extravaganza that they are doing yearly (even though I don't know how well they are doing at the theaters,considering that they are showing them at fewer and fewer locations)....but anyways...nice job!!
Lake Mungo is yet another faux documentary. Yet unlike the others that are supposed "found films" this one is done as an actual documentary supposedly filmed over the course of years.
Its about a family trying to cope with the loss of their 16 year old daughter who had drowned in 2005,but apparently is haunting the family over the course of the documentary.I wont go too much into detail on this,but will say,its almost kinda like if Twin Peaks original plot of the supposed good girl homecoming queen dying and having the skeletons coming out of the closet as the film goes along...except here you don't get creepy fucking dwarfs and FBI agents in love with some fricking pie.
If this movie sounds interesting,be prepared and go into it with the understanding that it is a documentary. So expect it to play out as a documentary.So expect a slow burn. If you do,it will get ya with some pretty creepy and memorable moments.This thing was very well done.
So again I have to applaud After Dark,they really gave a good effort on this years selections,and I like the fact that each one has been a different vein of horror.Nice job guys. They have an After Dark Originals series coming out in the fall....I don't know if it will be at the theaters first or straight to dvd,but if it is at the theaters....come on guys,lets get this into theaters that will not be mainly in BFE cities like Wichita or fucking Iowa City(not that theres anything wrong with Witchita or Iowa City)....

No comments:

Post a Comment