Wednesday, April 27, 2011

The Pool aka (Holy Shit!! Is That Isla Fischer and James Mcavoy??!!)























So I had remembered a little bit about this flick from about 8 years ago,one night late I was having trouble sleeping and came across an ok slasher that seemed foreign even though everyone was speaking English,but again it was late and I came across it kinda in the middle and didn't make it to the end,I just couldn't ever find it on again and eventually forgot about it.


Then I came across it a week ago and even then I thought it sounded familiar,but I couldn't remember all the details about it,what with old age and everything.Anyways,for a forgotten,rarely seen,and relatively unknown flick made by some German dude who has done nothing else....its not that bad.Plus if anything,the German dude can claim he at least made a flick with Mrs. Borat and a dude who has starred in Oscar nominated films in the same film.


And this fact I didn't even know until they popped up early in the film,since I wasn't totally paying attention during the credits,but damn if Isla Fischer's adorable little butt (which we unfortunately don't get to see) and James Mcavoy don't pop up as boyfriend and girlfriend in this one.Which was a kinda pleasant surprise.They aren't the two main characters either,so you also don't know when they are gonna buy the farm...you just know they probably will.


The film is the typical,a bunch of teens (uhm,25 year olds) graduate from an international high school and Prague and decide to have a big last night together bash at this posh pool resort that's closed for the night,but they are able to break in and party....which honestly,the party was actually pretty lame,you have like 10 people,all just splashing around and drinking and goofing off.....not quite the awe inspiring night of all nights that the main guy pronounces on the way to the event. Anyways,someone is out to kill them off as the night progresses....and that's pretty much it.


Its not a good film in any stretch of the imagination,but for a time killer its entertaining,I wouldn't pay a ton of money for it,hell I wouldn't buy it,but for a rainy Sunday or something its not bad,if you like non descript slasher films. It does have one really great death scene in it,involving a water slide and a machete that is pretty great though.Plus its always fun to see famous actors in shit,they'd probably rather not have brought up when they are hanging with James Lipton.


No comments:

Post a Comment