
Wes Craven......to be honest,I think the fact that he is repeatedly called "The Master of Horror" is a bit of a misnomer. In all honesty,true the guy has done a butt load of horror films....but shit a lot of them have been total crap. His actual good films are "Last House On The Left" (which in my opinion isn't really all that good,I'd heard sooo much about this one,and when I finally watched it....it was like....really??Ehhh,I am just saying its good based on its historical context), Nightmare on Elm St, New Nightmare,Scream 1 and 2 (even though there were parts in 2 where if it was edited down a little might have helped it more)...and that's pretty much it...And no I don't think his Hills Have Eyes is all that good.
Since Scream 1 and 2,he has been just on cruise control.His last movie prior to "Scream 4" was "My Soul to Take",which is one big old mess from the start....have no clue what the fuck he was thinking with that one.
Well,I'll honestly say,Craven put forth the effort with this one,and that its a good film.While not a classic,for a 4th film in a franchise,its effectively done.And in context of the other sequels,I actually prefer it to the other two.
The film's cast does well with what they are given,the writing which originally was done by Kevin "If It Wasn't For Me James Van Der Beek Wouldn't Be Known As The Dawson" Williamson and touched up by Ehren Krueger ,is decent enough for one of these things.As stated before this is the third sequel in a slasher series,that didn't take itself seriously,and really nobody should go into seeing this wanting to judge it very seriously.It is what it is,a fun time distraction,that does a decent job of keeping the feel of the original...which was severely lacking in the third one.
I'm not going to go into too much about the actual story...I mean its Scream 4 for Christs sake....but also I don't want to worry about giving away any spoilers,even though the only person I know that occasionally reads these fucking reviews saw the damn film with me.Anyways,if you like the Scream series,you won't be disappointed,and if you don't like the series,why the fuck would you see this one anyways???
PS- Hayden Panettierre is SOOOOOOOOO ridiculously cute in this film it should be a crime!!
Also I do want to say that Craven and Williamson did a nice job poking fun at the remake/reboot crazy asshole thinking that makes up a lot of the horror genre of present day Hollywood.Fucking Hollywood......
No comments:
Post a Comment