
I like Kevin Costner...he's a capable actor who is very good at playing the normal,everyman....when he tries to get out of that normal,everyman kind of role and tries something different....like say oh,maybe having a British accent and shooting arrows,like he did in "Robin Hood Prince of Thieves" or playing a roguish futuristic dude looking for water in the suckage that was "Waterworld"....well he kinda struggles,and the movies struggle along with him.
Yet when he gets a role that suits his style (lets face it he doesn't have a ton of range)...well he and the film usually turn out very well. "The New Daughter" is his newest film,and like "The Descent Part 2" I cant understand why it didn't get a theatrical release here in the states.Is it blockbuster material?? No,but it also is better than a lot of the crap that has been released at the theaters in the last 5 months....especially considering the dearth of horror films that have been released this year...There is no reason why this and "The Descent Part 2" should not have been released sometime in the last 5 months.Costner's film would have been perfect theater fodder for a dreary February weekend.But oh well,I'm not a studio head,so screw it.
"The New Daughter" stars the Costner as a newly divorced father who has gotten custody of his two kids.His tweener pain in the ass daughter...seriously what a miserable little girl,shes all screwed up with hormones and other crap that make her one whiny lil bitch....she's played by the little Spanish girl that starred in "Pans Labyrinth" a few years back....she does a very good job,being a whiny pain in the ass....if I'd been the Costner I would have sent her ass back to her Moms...jeez...anyways he also has a younger son that is the good kid....
So the Costner and his brood move to a remote countryside house in South Carolina,and no sooner do they get there than strange shit starts to occur,and I'm not talking about the Costner's daughter's first menstrual cycle...his kids find an odd hill in the backyard,that might or might not be an ancient burial ground...and the Costner's daughter starts being even more of a pain in the ass,and starts acting even stranger than normal 13 year old girls,by making her hobby,not anything normal,like listening to Jonas Brothers albums and having sexual fantasies about that gay looking shit from those "Twilight" flicks....nope she starts just hanging out on the hill and for some reason getting all dirty,like she was practicing for Friday Night Mud Fights down at Leroy's Wings and Things....and she starts to act very off,and having odd bumps on her back.
Oh and there is definitely something in that hill,and it isn't friendly.
This is a decent little flick.It has a very Spanish horror feel to it (non Rec movies kinda Spanish horror)....think Devils Backbone,The Orphanage,and stuff like that...this of course can be contributed to having been done by a Spanish director Louis A. Berdejo who wrote the American remake of "Rec" aka "Quarantine"....for a first time director,he does a very good job with the slow burn,and also he has made a very atmospheric little film.
The Costner and the rest of the cast all do a very good job....this film reminded me of M Knight's film "Signs" (in a good way)...If your up for a decent deliberately slow paced horror film,with some good atmosphere...and/or you like when the Costner is in a good film,check this one out.
No comments:
Post a Comment