
I have no clue why the heck this one didn't get a theatrical release. Seriously,this one is a lot better than the bullshit getting released (horror wise at least),and yet it quietly snuck onto the dvd/Blu Ray shelves just last week with little fan fare....and I think that's ridiculous.
The Descent is widely claimed (and deservedly so) as one of the finest horror films of at least the last 20 years. It of course was a British production,and was a big hit overseas,prior to being released here in the states.It didn't make a killing here in the states,but did ok....now I don't know what the sequel did over seas...but I really cant see why the hell this didn't get a better release here in the US.
If you haven't seen the original....you gotta see it....its frickin great!! I wont go into complete detail,but I'll just say its about 5 women including one insanely hot chick name Juno (MOWWW!!!) who go spelunking in the mountains in western Va and end up running into some very nasty pale naked dudes who want to eat em (in a bad way,not the good way).Anyways,it might seem like a simple plot,but its well done,shot extremely well,acted very well,and its a rare horror film that actually has some decent scares,and not just stupid jump scare with loud music that only scare the 14 yr old girls like 90 % of horror films released nowadays are slaves to.Just an excellent film.Plus again....Juno is HAWT!!!
Anyways the sequel follows a few days after the women went missing in the caves...only one of them survives (its not Hotness),and is taken to a hospital....she of course due to the events has blacked out,and doesn't remember much of anything....but evidently because Her Hotness...uhm I mean Juno is the daughter of some big wig senator the local sheriff is bound and determine to get the surviving girl to assist in going down into the caves to look for them....
And that's what happens....its kinda like Aliens in that way,that the girl Sarah becomes this kind of pale naked cannibal killing machine.....she goes totally bad ass on these fuckers....
What I liked about this,is that it felt like a continuation of the first one,which isn't always a guarantee with sequels,especially with a different director taking over....but this one does,and it doesn't do what a lot of sequels do and just bam,have people getting attacked by the monsters within the first 10 minutes....it builds gradually towards the attacks,much like the original did...that was a good thing,most sequels are usually dumbed down and loud and more violent...this is definitely more violent,but I didn't feel that they cheated in anyway with this film.It is truly a worthwhile sequel.
So,if you haven't seen the original Descent,check that out and then proceed directly to this one...hell if you haven't seen the original in awhile,make it a double feature,and enjoy two fine horror films (that's not always a guarantee nowadays!!)
No comments:
Post a Comment