Thursday, May 27, 2010

Survival of the Dead aka (Ok George Enough With The Zombie Crap...How About Monkeyshines 2?)
















So I've heard a lot of crap about this one. Seems like when it was first hitting the film festival route people were all about it,claiming it was phenomenal...hell it premiered at Cannes last year and Romero got a standing ovation (of course the French also love them some Jerry Lewis....so..)...anyways as the months passed on it seemed to get more and more negative pub....I was just surprised that a film that started as a supposedly critical darling could end up with a 35% on Rottentomatos.
Well after watching it on HD MovieNet on which the film had its "premier" last night,I can completely understand why.Simply put,its a total piece of crap.
Seriously,I know Romero is old,and has been a revered director for eons....but really,talk about hitting a rut....this is his 3rd "Dead" movie in 6 years,and his sixth overall.....I think its time to either retire,or move on to something else.
Anyways,the movie is about the national guard troops who actually made an appearance in "Diary of the Dead" (Romero's previous Dead flick that I liked).Anyways the movie follows these soldiers who have been rummaging through the countryside,taking what they can get,and just trying to survive,when they stumble upon an armoured car with over a million dollars in it.So naturally,they say screw the jeep,let ride in the truck with the mad cash,and away they go.Anyways no sooner than have they gotten down the road when they discover an Internet message from this old crusty Irish dude calling himself Captain Courageous who is telling anyone and everyone to come to Palm Isle to be safe.Yeah that always goes well in these types of movies....
Well Captain Courageous turns to be this cranky foul mouthed Irish dude (is there any other type?) name O Flynn who with his posse had been kicked off Palm Island by his mortal enemy,another Irish clan led by Muldoon (another complete Irish asshole)....why the fuck are there all these Irish fuckers on an island off Delaware? Seriously?? There is like a fuck load of them (and cowboys??) on this island....Romero...WTF??!!
Anyways,the soldiers go to the island and take O'Flynn with them.The big debate between O'Flynn and Muldoon is that O'Flynn wants to kill the zombies,while Muldoon wants to train them to eat something other than Irish ass...so you put that together with the Hatfield and Mckoy shenanigans and throw in some zombies...and thats basically it.
Now,to be fair to it,the cinematography is actually some of the best I've seen in a Romero film in some time,its fall like setting is filmed great,and there is some atmosphere at times on the island thanks to the cinematography.The problem is the writing is bad,and at times Romero throws in random almost cartoon moments.And the FX....is pretty godawful.CGI and zombie movies don't go well together.The cgi decapitations (theres one scene with like 8 zombie heads on sticks that's just silly),that and theres a baaaaad scene where a soldier uses a fire hydrant to cause a zombies head to explode....just awful.I know people will say cgi is cheaper....but I have seen enough 70's and 80's horror flicks that were low budget (including Romeros) to know that you can have realistically done practical effects....seriously if Romero is going to continue to do these flicks (which I hope he doesn't)....for god sake go practical with the shit!!!
Just awful.....

No comments:

Post a Comment