Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Inception aka (WTF??.... But In A Good WTF? Kinda Way)




















"Inception" is everything a Nicolas Cage movie nowadays usually isn't,its smartly written,well thought out,well acted throughout,great direction,it doesn't insult your intelligence,actually makes you have to pay attention,and something that you will actually have you thinking about it after it concludes and your leaving the theater...not like with most of the Cages stuff where your just wondering why you just spent another $10 on film by a dude that hasn't made hardly anything worth a fuck since 1999.

Directed by Chris Nolan,the man behind "Memento","Insomnia","The Prestige",and the always awesome "Dark Knight" has really turned it up a notch with his latest film.

"Inception" stars Leonardo "I Really Would Like To Do Something Lighter Next....Like Maybe Hot Tub Time Machine 2: The 90's Strike Back" Dicaprio as a thief of dreams who is hired by a Japanese businessman to get into the dreams of Cillian "I Swear I Don't Have The Rage Virus" Murphy to take advantage of some internal secrets from a competing company.Dicaprio is a flawed dude,much as he was in "Shutter Island" as he is continuously haunted by a dead wife in this one just as he was in that movie. There is a lot going on in this movie,its not going to have you lost,but it is a movie you need to pay attention to."National Treasure" this ain't.If you pay attention you should have no problem following,and you'll be rewarded with a very enjoyable movie.
Everything about this movie is first rate. You knew coming in this was going to be well directed,the FX are fantastic,and every actor is at the top of their game...hell even frickin Juno...who I loathe,actually is good in this,even though she still looks like she's 12.Its a fast paced movie,especially for a movie that's 2 hours and 28 minutes long (it really didn't seem that long).
Is this my favorite movie of the year....no,but I would see this again in a heart beat.Something tells me this is the type of movie that's so well layered that you will pick up something new every time that you watch it. Chris Nolan might be the best director out there today.Again this is the exact opposite of 90% of the Cages recent filmography....you actually get your moneys worth,and you wont feel stupid for seeing it.

No comments:

Post a Comment