Friday, July 9, 2010

The Disappeared aka (Kinda Like An M Knight Flick....Back When His Movies Weren't Sh*t)














So I'd been hearing good things about the British import The Disappeared,that was recently picked up by IFC Films (Who by the way for the past year should be applauded for all the independent horror that they have been responsible for bringing to the home viewing market...they bring in a lot of good shit).Anyways,they've done it again,this is a very good flick.
The Disappeared is about a British teen who has been distraught since his little brother went disappearing while he was supposed to watch him,but instead was rocking out with his cock out with his buds,while his little bro went to the park and ran into some serious stranger danger....anyways its months later and the teen is just out of the hospital after counseling to try and get over the disappearance.
After he gets home and starts hanging with his rough neck dad,he starts seeing and hearing things,and believes his brother has come back. It doesn't take long to realize that lil dude is a ghost and he's either trying to tell big bro "Fuck You ya prick for not watching me!!" and haunting his ass,or he's trying to tell him something about what happened.And his little brother isn't the only ghost/supernatural thing going on in this film.
Eventually as the pieces start to come together,with some of it being predictable,but never boring,this little pic turns into an engrossing and well acted/directed film.The use of light in this is really well done,as when there is a ghostly presence,the lighting alters slightly....I mentioned M Knight in the title,but actually it somewhat reminded me of something along the lines of "Stir of Echos" in style with a more supernatural presence...if that makes sense.Plus you get to see Malfoy from the Harry Potter flicks,not play an A Hole for a change as he plays the teens best bud.And I gotta say he's set for life for roles as SS soldiers/officers for the rest of his career,so dude start looking for WW II flicks!!! He just has that look....
Anyways,I cant say enough about this flick,I really enjoyed the hell out of it.Its one of the better independent horror flicks that I've seen this year....hell one of the best horror films of this year....if you get a chance to see it...do so!!

No comments:

Post a Comment