Thursday, July 22, 2010

S.N.U.B. aka (S.U.C.K.)














I had read about this British film called S.N.U.B. that sounded like it might be an intense little flick that sounded like it could be along the lines of a Night of the Living Dead type film but set in a government nuclear bunker.Sounded like it could be right up my alley. Well unfortunately this film sucks.

S.N.U.B. stands for Secret Nuclear Underground Bunker. The whole film takes place in one,which is fine if the film can build suspense and the characters aren't a bunch total frickin nimrods.Which is what this film is loaded with. The film deals with a group of people who happen to be visiting one of these bunkers ,theres a twit lower level government official and his assistant,theres a government officials wife and kids who for some odd reason are visiting and planning to stay at the bunker for a vacation?? A whore who is fucking said government official whose wife and family are there (and find out about her fairly quickly....what a schmuck)probably a good thing he didn't make it to the bunker.A delivery guy and his bike...again??...and some soldiers....well this random group end up lucking out and being in this bunker when a terrorist dirty bomb goes off and totally nukes London and the surrounding area.
The group not only has to deal with each other and not knowing if there is anything still alive outside of the bunker,but there is something on the outside trying to get in.
Like I said,this setup sounded good to me (granted this was before I knew how bad the characters were),unfortunately this just never gels. I mean 5 minutes after they get locked in the bunker after the blast,and figuring out the outside world might be totally fried,a couple of characters start making goo goo eyes and flirting with each other (Really??) and just stupid idiotic banter just continues throughout until the radiated people from outside (they turn out to be french fried escaped prisoners from a nearby prison) start trying to bust in and kill them all.
The idea for this is interesting and in all honesty,it has a few moments that are well done.The outside of the bunker shots after the blast are nice and the fact that they aren't afraid to have kids get killed on screen...nice job...but shit the writing is just awful.Anytime pretty much someone said something you just wanted them to shut the fuck up.
And the way they french fried prisoners look is bad...they aren't scary at all....considering how the outside shots were done (If you have seen the film "Sunshine" think of the shots where they are looking at the sun in that room and have to wear sunglasses because of the blinding light) and considering that they obviously didn't have a ton of money,it would have been preferable to just keep the prisoners in shots similar to the way the baddie in "Sunshine" was shot....would have been much more effective.Oh and the ending is just totally asinine.
Anyways,nice idea and some nice FX shots,but damn this movie is just total crap.

No comments:

Post a Comment