
Ok,so I had heard about this film from various sites and after watching the preview,was really stoked to see it. See the main attraction to this one,is the fact that the whole film was shot all in one take. Now you would think that a film that is relatively short (it clocks in at just above an hour) and done all in one take would be edge of your seat excitement.Well unfortunately by the last 30 minutes I was bored out of my mind.
The film stars Zack " I Sure Hope That Rumor About Gremlins 3 Is True....Mr. Zemekis...Please!!!" Galligan...haven't seen the dude in much of anything recently,and its good to see him in something new,he's not a bad actor....especially in something with a bit of humor,which this film does start off with....seriously there are some very funny moments early on that had me chuckling,some of the remarks by the characters are very good. And the whole one shot deal seemed to be working...
Unfortunately once the shit hits the fan it just doesn't work. The story is about a group of buds out in the woods at a buddy's uncles cottage for the weekend (stop me if you've heard this before).Anyways they are hanging out shooting the shit,as I said this is the best part of the film,then they are suddenly being stalked ala "The Strangers" by a group of dudes who are all made up like dumb ass fricking loser Juggalos from Insane Clown Posse...The problem is that they aren't really creepy and there was zero suspense....unlike "The Strangers" which was creepy as can be.
I think the problem was that they had one camera and that you don't really get that nice creepy feel due to the way its lit,and characters will be facing away from the camera at other points and the dramatic aspect disappears. Plus the sound for it wasn't very good.The last half hour unfortunately is basically just characters running into one room,screaming and yelling,then some of them will disappear as they run off to another room while the killers are shown just standing outside in the hallway doing nothing for some reason...that's pretty much how it goes,and the fight scenes when the characters fight back are also handicapped with the restriction of one camera.
I hate being so down on this film,as stated the first part isn't bad...and actually this one shot deal might have worked better if they had stuck with the comedic horror approach....maybe a bit like a "Shaun of the Dead" vein (which some of the characters remarks feel like)might have worked throughout the whole film....unfortunately,once it went full blown horror,I was ready to go do some laundry......and maybe giving my dog a bath....
No comments:
Post a Comment