Thursday, April 1, 2010

The Final aka (Like If Hostel met that One Tree Hill Episode Where They Had That Fat Kid Go All Columbine And They Had Sex And Had A Kid)




















So,this is the second review of the new Horrorfest dvd's,and the second in a row,but this was the first one I actually watched.Its also probably in terms of the three I have seen so far,the weakest.But its not bad,its just the other two that I saw were better."The Final" is decent enough,and pretty well acted,but the thing is its not really scary,and it feels like it should have been made about 4 or 5 years ago when stuff like "Hostel" and "Saw" were influencing a ton of these films....they still do,but back then it wouldn't have been so been there,done that.
"The Final" centers on a group of loners,some are losers,but most of them are just quiet kids who are just trying to make it through high school with the least amount of being picked on by the popular,cool kids. Now high school can really suck....and to be honest,this film really makes the cool kids seem like the biggest assholes EVER....I mean the loner kids aren't doing anything and these assholes come around calling them names,and breaking shit...like one of the poor kids video camera for no damn reason.Yeah these kids suck.
The second half of the film centers on what the group of loners decide to do to get back at these assholes.They are led by a nutcase named Dane who kinda looks like Jay Baruchel,except suicidal....anyways,the loner/loser kids,decide to get revenge,not by going all Columbine and killing everyone in school,no,they have a secret invite only costume party out in the middle of nowhere,with only the assholes invited to it.
From there they drug the assholes and chain them up and slowly torture them one by one.Their plan isn't to kill them,but to disfigure them so horribly that they wont forget.Again if this film had been made in 2006,it would have been maybe fresher feeling.But its well done for a lower budget flick,and the acting is pretty decent all the way across.The thing that's a bummer for me is that I had time to kill after the movie and watched the making of feature,and the sad thing is,the kids in the movie are pretty damn funny.Especially the morose motherfucker that looks like Jay Baruchel.That's what the film was missing I think....if the first half had had a bit more levity,to go along with the setting up that the assholes were indeed assholes,it would have maybe made it a better film.As it is the film,though watchable and ok,is just very somber and kinda monotone....you know,lets show the assholes are clearly assholes and that they make the losers lifes awful and then move onto the torture.
Maybe I'm sounding like I didn't like the movie at all,don't get that feeling,its not bad,and it is watchable,its just if you can find something else to watch,then do so.

No comments:

Post a Comment