This little flick surprised the hell out of me. Stag Night is a pretty damn fine film. It stars Kip "Don't Call Me Frank" Pardue and Breckin "I'm Short Enough To Be A Hobbit" Meyer. The story deals with Pardue's character and his brother Breckin "The Pinnacle Of My Career Was Clueless....and that Was 15 Frickin Years Ago" Meyer and a few buds are out having a bachelor party for Pardues character in NYC.
We don't get much debauchery from the festivities....it basically starts with the non asshole Pardue walking outside to call his fiance to check in....first off...fucking shenanigans on that shit....seriously you don't call your fiance while your out for your bachelor party....bad move....anyways...They are at a strip club and Meyers character causes a ruckus that causes them to get kicked out.Anyways they head towards the subway and get on one of the trains....its late....so its the 4 buds and two whores...uhm strippers from the club that just finished their shifts and are heading home.Anyways Meyer fucks up the situation on the train and they end up off the train....all six of them.
And unfortunately....jackass hobbit boy has gotten them to get off at a part of the tunnel that isn't really used any more...not since the 70's. Anyways they are looking for help and come across a murder being done by 3 homeless dudes. These fuckers aren't your normal homeless....they are cannibalistic....
That's it the rest of the film proceeds from there....its basically like a combo of "Judgement Night" mixed with equal parts "Wrong Turn" (Loved the first one,but goddamn enough with the sequels fuckers!!) and "Midnight Meat Train" (An overrated,but still decent pre "Hangover" Bradley Cooper flick that takes place mostly in the subway tunnels).
Anyways,what could have been a generic as hell flick,especially for DTV,turns out to be a hell of a decent flick.Its well shot,the characters are a little typical,but all the actors do a very good job...including Meyer,who even though I cracked on him,is a decent actor...the writing and pacing of the film is very well done,it doesn't drag at all....once the cannibals show up....its on like Donkey Kong.The FX are pretty damn great too....there is a death in the film that is really well done....I will say this,it is a bit gory,but again its about cannibalistic homeless killers....what do you expect??The gore is great,but its not overdone....
If you come across this one....check it out.Its everything you hope and pray for in a good DTV flick....

No comments:
Post a Comment