
So I've come to the conclusion that Richard "Donnie Darko" Kelly is another M. Night Shyamalan (and thats not a complement). You see I liked Donnie Darko,yeah its not always coherent,but it has this quirkiness to it that I liked and damn if the dude didnt nail the 80's vibe thru and thru...the soundtrack rocks. Well just like Mr. Shyamalan,it seems like Mr. Kelly has just let pretentiousness get the best of him.His second movie Southland Tales was thouroughly incomprehensible,and though I enjoyed the Box a lot more than I thought I was going to based on national reviews....the dude must walk around with a huge head...think like the lil alien dude The Great Gazoo from the Flintstones....just a mamoth frickin melon.His movies seem to be made for like 5 people (probably mensa members).So no wonder Mr. Kelly has never had a box office hit.
That being said,"The Box" is decent.Its his least confusing movie yet (just dont be intoxicated or stoned when you watch it...well on second thought,ok maybe stoned) I'm sure most people know the basic premise to the movie (the ads were everywhere a few months ago and they didnt leave much to the imagination. Cameron Diaz and her husband James "Dont Call Me Cyclops,Because They Killed Me In The First 30 Minutes of X2 Dammit!!" Marsden,are having some tough times,ol Cameron as cute as she is has a club foot,and Cyclops err sorry James...doesnt get to be an astronaut and he's bummed out by that...well anyways they get offered a mysterious box from Frank "I Was Fuckin Skeletor" Langella who has a serious complexion problem with his face (like some of its missing).
Anyhow crater face offers them the Box,if they press the button someone they dont know dies and they get a million dollars.As you can guess they push the button and all kinds of fucked up shit happens.
This movie takes awhile to get where its going,but I will say I never sat there with a WTF is going on feeling while watching it? The movie has a paranoid feeling to it...kinda like the 197o's Invasion of the Body Snatchers kind of creepy paranoia in it...and damn if Kelly doesnt nail the 70's vibe...I wish this guy would direct something written by someone else...I think this guy can direct his ass off visually,be nice to see what he could do with something more commercial.
The only complaint I really have with the film is that Cameron Diaz's southern accent is awful....She is supposed to live in Richmond Va,but the accent is just pathetic...she sounds like she's from Mississipi or Alabama and thats doesnt even sound right...just piss poor on her part....otherwise its decent.If you liked Donnie Darko and dont care about happy endings than this flick is for you.But if your thinking of a good time is a John Travolta doubleheader of From Paris With Love and Wild Hogs,then uhh yeah this flicks not for you.While I wouldnt recommend everyone to buy it,its definitely worth a rental.
No comments:
Post a Comment