
Last night worked out pretty good,I got to watch two films by two young directors that I think are heading to the big time. I watched Cabin Fever 2 by Ti West and The Burrowers by JT Petty. I'll talk about Mr. Wests flick later....but for now,let me first do this one here about Mr. Petty's effort. He hasnt done a ton of movies....actually I've only seen his Mimic 3 which considering it was done on a shoe string budget was way better than it should have been for anything combining Rear Window with giant fucking cockroaches,and this fine little western/horror movie.Well done dude,well done!!
The Burrowers is the type of movie that is a western with the horror elements thrown in. Heck my Dad hates horror movies,but he could watch westerns 24 hours a day,I guarantee he would not mind this one bit,and thats saying something.
The story is set out in 1879,the west is still pretty new territory and there arent that many people living out there,we're talking some seriously desolate ass shit. So its a few people living on their own with indians everywhere. Well there is this Irish guy named Coffee (played by the same guy that was the star of Mimic 3,does a nice job here),well he is a ranch hand trying to marry a settlers daughter,he leaves for a bit,and when he comes back,her family is dead and she has vanished.
Well naturally everyone assumes its the indians that did it so they round up a rescue party including some calvary led by the asshole that played Percy in The Green Mile (Percy was the lil annoying fucker that wanted to toast all the convicts and was just plain Grade A Asshole) anyways he's an asshole in this one too...
The party treks across the desolate ass plains (there isnt shit out there) and come across several things that just dont seem natural and doesnt seem to be stuff that indians would do...so Coffee and his boss and two others decide to leave the calvary to search on their own...yeah bad idea jackass's....as you can guess they run into all kinds of messed up shit...pissed off indians and the actual creatures that are behind the recent vanishing acts.
The less said the better,because this is a flick to just sit back and enjoy the look of the film and where the story goes. I would definitely love to see this iin HD,as with most good westerns there are nice wide open shots,some early shots reminded me of Brad Pitts "Assasination of Jesse James" movie (which to me was one of the best shot movies I have seen in years...),now I'm not saying this is as good as that flick,just that some of the shots are similar...early on. The monsters are very well done...and they arent cheesy looking,I havent seen many horror/westerns,but the ones I have seen always have cheesy ass effects....not this one.
The gore is there,but like the horror it doesnt over run the film,thats why I think its more of a western with the horror element popping up every so often. Look if you like westerns and or horror with some well done monsters in it you really cant go wrong with this film. I would definitely say that if you can rent it or buy it (not for $30 on Blu Ray...get it discounted,its been out for almost a year...Dont Be Stupid!!!)...its a good one.
No comments:
Post a Comment