Saturday, February 20, 2010

Zombieland aka (Welcome Back Woody!! You Hemp Luvin SOB!!)



















Now this is a fun flick.I LOVE this frickin movie!! Zombieland came out a few weeks ago on DVD. It stars Woody "Man you got a joint" Harrellson and Micheal Cera..uhm I meant Jesse Eisenberg,seriously these dudes must have the same DNA,they pretty much play the same character...you know the awkward,shy,guy...these two have it down to a damn science. The other two main people in it is Emma "Fuckin Jules from Superbad" Stone and Abigail "Now that Dakota Fanning is too Old I'm Taking All Her Parts" Breslin.
Oh and good for the peeps who are handling young lil Miss Sunshines career for getting her into something totally different from anything she has done...BRAVO...seriously,if it seems like in the last two years if you needed a cute lil precosious girl to say something cute and look adorable in a chick flick,you brought in Miss Sunshine.So nice to see her in a flick with the Undead....nice!!
But this film belongs to good old Woody. All four of the actors are great in their roles,but Woody is the fucking man.Woody play Tallahassee (not his characters real name,he names everyone after wherever they are from) he picks up Micheal Ce...shit Jesse Eisenberg on the road and BAM you have a road trip movie.Thats basically the gist of the story.The two girls are con women...or con woman and con lil girl...who they run into and end up together travelling to their destination of an amusement park,that Lil Miss Sunshine thinks is safe from zombies.Its not.
Thats the story,yeah it doesnt sound like much,but the way its been written and it plays out is great.It was intended by the writers of it to be a tv series and it seems structured sort of like a tv series.The pacing is fast,it never really bogs down.Heck I'd love for this to be a weekly series...its that fun.And actually there are zombies in the flick,but they are just a part of it,this isnt like a lot of zombie flicks where when the zombies arent around your looking at the clock...its just as good with the four characters as it is when the action is going on.Nice job!!
Dont go into it thinking its another "Shaun of the Dead",its not,its an entirely different kinda beast.But its fun in its own way.If you enjoy Zombie films and or road trip comedies,this is a keeper.Heck people who dont like zombie films,might enjoy it.So,if your tired of the same old same old,and want a good laugh (this does have the best extended cameo I have seen in a long time)...this is a pretty good flick to see.

No comments:

Post a Comment