Monday, February 15, 2010

The Wolfman aka (At Least Its Better Than If Stephen"CGI ROCKS!!"Sommers Had Done It















Let me start off by saying that based on what I have read for about a year now,about all the reshoots and other changes and delays that this film has had,I didnt know what to expect. I actually kinda thought it might be a total train wreck edited story with some occasionally pretty visuals...so after seeing it,I'll say this.....is it great?? No,but it also is not bad...Its an enjoyable film,that under the hands of a better director than the dude who made the painfully mediocre Jurassic Park III and producers who would have give that said director the freedom he wanted,could have been awesome...but still considering all the fucking around that the studio was rumored to do with this film,it turned out ok.
If you dont know what the Wolfman is about,than boo on you,its a remake of the 1941 Lon Chaney Jr. classic,in which Lawrence "Dont Call Me Larry" Talbot,this time played by Benecio "I Swear I Will Enunciate In This Film" Del Torro (Seriously this guy is like the Thom York of acting,some films you can understand maybe every 5th word that he says...),anyhow,ol Lawrence comes home,because his brother has disappeared,but by the time he gets there he finds out they found his brothers body looking like an ingredient in some Hamburger Helper.
Of course gypsys get blamed for it (like they always do) and Lawrence goes out to see them and find out what happened to his bro,even though his pops played by Anthony " I Really Need To Do A Comedy,Because I'm Tired of Being Cast As a Heavy" Hopkins (who of course is actually "EVIL"),telling him not to go.But Benecio tell Pops "Fuck You Old Man,I'm Rolling...Peace!!" and leaves.
Well he sees the Gypsys and then he gets attacked by something....and after that theres a lot of decapitations and dismembering.Anyways by now you know I'm not going to tell about the whole flick,needless to say,ol Lawrence is a werewolf.
What I will say,is that the film looks fantastic....yes there is some cgi,but there is also a lot of practical fx also...plus I (unlike my wife,who thought the wolfman looked like Teen Wolf) actually liked that they paid homage to the way that the Wolfman looked...He should look like this,it would have been awful to have him just look like every other werewolf from the last 30 years (ya know,kinda look like an actual wolf....zzzz...),The Wolfman look was perfect!! Besides it beats that boy band bullshit that New Moon was pulling...
Yeah there are some issues,Why Emily Blunts character falls for him so easily is never really developed,and there is a part towards the ending where it nearly fell apart with a big Werewolf vs. Werewolf fight that came close to looking like that fight at the end of Blade 2 that looked like it was choreographed by the WWE. Why the producers thought it was a great idea to have this fight like that I'll never know....but thankfully there is more after the fight,plus they were smart not to have the fight drag on too long "unlike Blade 2's retarded mess"....but as I said there are some plusses,again,the film looks great....the acting is solid,I have read complaints about Benecio acting as one morose motherfucker the whole film...soooo..come on he's a tragic figure,he saw his mom get killed when he was younger (and that jacked him up psychologically) and he just lost his bro,and he gets turned into a savage bloodthirsty beast....yeah I be a bit down myself...I thought he did a fine job.Anthony Hopkins....was Anthony Hopkins,but again...thats fine for the role.Emily Blunt,didnt have a ton to do for most of the film,but did what she could,plus shes not hard on the eyes (I like chicks dressing in that victorian gear...Might have to get the wife some of that stuff!!),oh and Hugo Weaving as Inspector Abilene is very good,he was really having fun with his role...nice job!!
I have read recently,that the director Joe Johnston has put back in 17 minutes into the dvd...good,because I would definitely love to see more of the story be added back into it,which is evidently exactly what they've done.I'll definitely be getting the Blu Ray of this one!!!
So the film is not a total cluster fuck,its a hell of a lot better than if a total fucknut like Sommers had gotten it (seriously his Mummy movies suck,as 3rd rate Indiana Jones flicks with bad CGI...and FUCK Van Helsing!!),but damn this movie really had potential to be something really great,but the studio dropped the ball on it....next time get someone like a Del Toro or someone like that and let them do what they need to do...
If you love monster movies,and monster movies that are nice to look at...then I would say definitely check it out,its a decent flick.

No comments:

Post a Comment