
I saw this a while ago,and figured,shit I havent watched crap in a few days,might as well put this up as a review. This one has some funny bits,but is also stupid as hell,so if you like your comedy to be mature and witty then skip this one,but if you like movies like Will Ferrells stupidest movies ( I mean the really dumb shit....) and stuff like the really retarded Adam Sandler type flicks (think "Dont Mess With The Zohan"),then this might be funny to you.
The gist of the story (which really doesnt matter since its not much of one,and is stupid) is that James "My Daughter In Law Is Diane Lane....SMOKIN" Brolin is an owner of a used car lot,that is struggling to stay open,who bets that he can sell all his cars on the lot over a holiday weekend,or he will sell it to his rival,whos son is Ed Helms (The Toothless Wonder From The Hangover),who is engaged to James " My God Put A Bullet In My Head,I Have To Sleep In The Same Bed As Barbara Streisand...and Did I Mention That My Daughter In Law Is Diane Lane??" Brolins daughter....Anyways Brolin,decides to bring in a crew of stud salesmen led by Jeremy "Hey,John Cusack Call Me!! Please!!!" Piven. Piven and his crew can sell cars like nobody's buisness.Thats it,thats the whole movie.
"The Goods" has its moments,and the story is setup like one of those typical early 80's comedies such as the Kurt "Goldie Hahn is my Squeeze Box and Is Sill Looking Good!!" Russells flick "Used Cars"...it kinda reminds me of that flick...strangely...But there are also plenty of moments that were supposed to be funny that just arent.
I will say this the dude Rob Riggle who had small but memorable parts in "Step Brothers" and "The Hangover" does make me laugh with his role,he plays a sort of Benjamin Button character,he's a ten year old that looks like he's 30...leads to some good laughs...and Helms is funny as the rival,and leader of a local boy band who's claim to fame is that they opened once for O Town...good stuff...oh and Will Ferrell pops up also....so the film has a lil going for it.
Look,I would have been pissed to have seen this at the theaters,its not a "good" film,but for something to watch when theres nothing going on,if you like stupid comedies,then this might be a good time killer.Just remember to leave your brain at the door.
No comments:
Post a Comment