
So,I have been really looking forward to this one for a good long while,I was really disappointed when the studio moved it from its original mid October release date to late February....but fine,whatever,I mean its frickin a Scorsese and Decaprio flick and it looks like its creepy as fuck...its gotta be awesome...right??
Well,let me just say this,"Shutter Island" is a good film,but its not really what its being advertised as...by all previews it was being promoted as a creepfest/psychological thriller and based on all the reports being done by all the horror sites that I frequent,you would assume that this might be along the lines of something like the Shining in terms of being creepy as hell.Well its not really that.
"Shutter Island" is really a basically a psychological thriller,thats really not that much of a thriller...its got all the trappings,but its more simply about an individual sinking into madness.Any element of horror comes pretty much from the foreboding surroundings and after awhile they dont even seem that noticeable as this is much more of a film focused on the individuals than actually having a ton actually happening.
I wont go into too much detail about the film,other than to say that Decaprio is a federal marshall and he and his new partner Mark Ruffalo are on a missing persons case on an island that houses an insane asylum. The missing is one of the asylums patients who appears to have simply vanished from her cell. Now I will say that the case pretty much becomes irrelevant to the rest of the film about 40 minutes into this 2 plus hour film.To say anymore wouldnt be right to say for those who havent seen it.
Now I didnt go into this expecting a balls to the wall scary ass film,but I did go in expecting it to be a bit creepy and have some tense moments,but it really doesnt have that many....like I said its not really even a thriller,but more of a drama,especially as it nears its conclusion.Which is a bit odd,the film begins as a potential creepy thriller and winds up being a drama by its ending.Just a bit of a downer based on what it looked like it was going to be. I really cant blame the film itself,I really blame the studio for that,as they were the ones promoting it as a horror type film,not a drama.I didnt mind the film,but I can will definitely understand some people leaving this one pissed and hating it...
Its a Scorsese film,so of course its very well done,the acting is top notch also,again as you would expect it to be.The film looks phenomenal,and early on with the look and the dread filled music (that to me was very "The Shining" like sounding...not a bad thing) its just more of a type of film,that you'd be more content sitting around on a gray cold Sunday afternoon watching at home,instead of a packed theater,with a bunch of people who were expecting one type of film and you leave feeling a bit empty after getting something different.
Did I like "Shutter Island",yeah I guess so,but I would recommend actually just waiting till the dvd/Blu Ray release in about 4 months,its a good film,just not one that you must see in a theater.If your looking for a real horror film to see next week,check out "The Crazies".Oh and nice job studio PR,because I guarantee this film will kick ass in its box office take this weekend,but after word of mouth,it'll get its ass kicked by fuckin Tracy Morgans dumb ass next week.But at least it'll still have made a butt load of cash this weekend.
No comments:
Post a Comment