Friday, February 12, 2010

Cabin Fever 2:Spring Fever aka (I'd Rather Have Syphillis!!!)











Let me start off by saying I wasnt a HUGE fan of the first Cabin Fever...I mean its ok and stuff,but I think its a bit over rated. I think I went into it 6 years ago thinking it was some scary ass intense flick,and to be honest with you,yeah there is some messed up stuff in it,but theres just as much comedy in it,and back then I wasnt expecting that so it was just kind of ehhh for me.I've been meaniing to watch it again and actually tried to watch it before I watched the sequel,but unfortunately my copy is messed up....so maybe another time.



That being said,I knew going into this one that the movie was just as much a comedy as it was anything else...its not scary,but I enjoyed it.I will say that there is no way in hell that this would have ever played at the theaters...its definitely not mainstream.
This is the third film I've seen from Ti West after "The Roost" and "House of the Devil"...I know he has a couple of more low budget flicks out there,just havent seen them. What I can appreciate with him is that each of the films I've seen have been entirely different in tone and style.But also something I have to admit is that his films arent for everyone. I for one enjoyed the hell out of "the Roost",I appreciated it for what it was,a very low budget flick that got kinda creepy as it went on...my wife hated the fucker (of course she's not the biggest horror fan,but if she hates something she will let me know without a doubt that she hated it...and damn did she hate this one). "House of the Devil" I liked because it was a horror film done in the exact style of a 1981 horror film.I mean he nailed it in the look and slow burn ,and the "what the fuck kinda ending is a lot like something from that era of films.But again I know some people who watched it and just didnt like it,because it was too plodding and deliberate and there didnt seem to be a big enough payoff to it....the thing is I think you might like one of is movies then hate three of his others....its just the fact he can do differnet styles...which I can appreciate.
Ok so after that little diatribe let me just tell ya that this movie has more bodily fluids flying around than any movie I have seen in recent memory. I mean there was a bunch of times I was sitting there thinking "holy shit,are you kidding me??"...yeah the wife would definitely make me turn this fucker off after 10 minutes if I tried to get her to watch this one.
The movie centers around a bunch of contaminated water that is from the same river from the first movie that has been sent to a nearby high school.The movie shifts into almost a John Hughes type film for awhile,if John Hughes threw in a puss leaking penis and girls spitting out cum after giving blow jobs in the bathroom....honestly the gross out stuff in this is Troma worthy except with a much better budget...as bad as that sounds and that isnt even close to all thats gross out worthy in this son of a bitch,I actually laughed a lot during this,and it was during parts I was supposed to laugh at,not laughing because its so bad its funny.
Oh and the main guy Noah Segan is like channeling Christian Slater circa 1988-89,nice job dude...and there are some pretty good John Hughes type moments thrown in with all the over the top stuff.So even though Mr. West has washed his hands of this film (because evidently there were too many cooks in the kitchen in terms of the producers and studio getting involved) I think the film turned out pretty decent.
As I stated this film isnt for everyone,but if you liked the first one,and enjoy black humor,and bits of 80's style high school high jinx,with a butt load of gag worthy gross ass shit,this might be for you.But I cant really say that this is a good film for everyone,because its not.So if the shit I've mentioned has gotten you interested in the shit,see it,if not,please avoid it at all cost!!

No comments:

Post a Comment